Real Taste of Freedom

I never “had” cancer.

That would imply that I accepted it as my fate, as part of me and my being.

Cancer has been an inconvenience, an inconvenience that I am so grateful for.

Whilst I have always rejected the notion that I am “sick” or there are side effects to the toxic treatment that my Good Doctors have administered to not only save my life, but aim for full cure, I accepted that this is happening to me and I should use this as an opportunity to learn something extraordinary and become extraordinary.

I have been blessed with the opportunity to have a giant mirror held up to my face and examine my purpose, the entirety of my existence, my existential being.

I have been blessed to have medicine administered to me that was created and perfected by the World’s brilliant minds that has been so powerful and toxic, that it literally and figuratively broke me down, cell by cell giving me the glorious opportunity to press an internal reset button & rebuild my body.

For every tear shed by those who love me, I was awakened to the reality of exactly how much I am loved, protected, respected in my World. I am given the opportunity to reciprocate that love and support ten fold.

All the pretense, superficial nonsense and fluff has fallen away.

How often in life are we given the opportunity to do a real whole life spring clean so we are left with things that count, people that matter and a clear map on where to go to fulfill the vision that we work so hard for?

Not often, if at all.

I have been given the opportunity to learn to be grateful for every single moment, every breathe, every healthy cell in my body, every real friend and every family member, especially my parents.

The most important sense of gratitude that I feel is that I have been awakened to understanding a real sense of FREEDOM. There is no prison like the one that your body can create for you when it is not functioning and co-operative. No external entity can inflict a restriction on you the way that your own body and mind has the ability to impose on itself.

I, at age 28 can say that this has been my greatest challenge and my biggest blessing. When I was diagnosed last year I made a commitment to myself and to everyone who has stood steadfast with me on this arduous, daunting and sometimes terrifying road – I would be in remission before my birthday in 2013.

So here I stand, months into this journey on the Road to Remission, balder than the day I was born after being chemo-ed up, needled, cut, poked and prodded by dozens of medical professions in a state of Awe, Gratitude and almost disbelief because for a split second, I doubted myself and the commitment that I had made…

I am officially FREE from cancer. 

After climbing a great hill, one finds that there are many more hills to climb.

I have taken a moment here to rest, to steal a view of that glorious vista that surrounds me, to look back on that distance that I have come.

But I can only rest for a moment, for with freedom comes responsibilities, & I dare not linger, for my long walk has not ended.

{ The Great Former President Mandela}

So today I choose to live with Gratitude for the LOVE that fills my heart, the PEACE that rests within my spirit and the voice of HOPE that says…

all things are possible

Watch out World, If I Can Conquer Cancer, what am I going to do next?

 

Gratitude-Mandala

3 thoughts on “Real Taste of Freedom

  1. In light of the new FREEDOM you have achieved, I acknowledge all efforts put forward to achieve full health before your birthday in 2013. What I find powerful is the spirit you have shown and continue to show. The intrinsic motivation you have brought from inside has shown that, when necessary self-belief can transform adverse situations to positive ones.

    I hope God can give you more will to channel this energy and positivity to other beings that need it to survive the world’s challenges. In Xhosa we say “okungapheli kuyahlola”, loosely translated to “what has no ending is a curse”.

    I wish you all the best in social work you do and my God truly bless you and happy (belated) birthday.

    You’re an ambassador for POSITIVITY – keep positive.

Leave a Reply

