Through pain and passion…

…is birth!

I am always told by people that we are “supposed” to
– be happy
– be beautiful
– get married
– have children
– buy a house
– buy a car
– work my bum off to prove my worth in the corporate world
etc etc etc

and project an image of poised perfection. Life is wonderful and we all live happily ever after.

Well, unfortunately I have been a big disappointment for those “everybody” who have had these expectations for me to live out these wonderful “supposed to” moments because, I haven’t, I don’t and I most likely won’t do these things when I’m “supposed to”! I am certainly far from poised perfection too!

I don’t follow any particular religion, I do what resonates with me and do what I feel is necessary even if it ruffles a few feathers and is not widely accepted as popular opinion.

The best/worst part of my particular life choice is the fact that I am openly (and discreetly) judged for it.

For this I have adopted Richard Branson’s motto:
“Screw it, let’s do it!”

Not so acceptable to date a muslim man being a girl from a hindu family? I say “Screw it, let’s do it!”

Raise a few eyebrows for choosing to hang out at The Rock in Soweto for shisanyama instead of larney Tasha’s for Sunday brunch? I say “Screw it, let’s do it!”

Turn a few heads for speaking against the majority about a taboo or controversial subject? I say “Screw it, let’s do it!”

I’m never going to fit into the boxes or follow the paths that people long for me to follow. I go where my heart takes me, even if that is deep in the jungle – I have an axe and I am ready to chop down whatever is blocking me to create a path for those who share a vision for a truly open, free and democratic society.

Nothing great comes easy, nothing that needs to be built can be handed to us on a silver platter and without sacrifice, we will not savour the victories of our triumphs.
Happiness is not guaranteed in life and we are not in control of all the factors that we need to be happy. What we are in control of is our actions, our thoughts and how we treat other people… our legacy.

The least we can do is make it a good one 🙂

Join Me!

One thought on “Through pain and passion…

Leave a Reply

